Maryland Stream

All powers of the MWMC are vested in a Board of Directors that guides the Council toward reaching its goals. The Board manages the affairs of the Council and contains 21 members representing state, local and federal agencies, NGOs, academia, intergovernmental organizations, and private industry. Board members are appointed by the Secretary of Department of Natural Resources which also provides staff support for the MWMC Executive Secretary. Each member serves a term of three years.

Quarterly MWMC Board meetings are open to the public. These meetings are typically quite lively, with discussions on “hot” topics in water monitoring, assessment, management, and regulation. Committee reports, workshop summaries, lunchtime presentations, and roundtable discussions keep members abreast of Board activities and accomplishments as well as issues that should be addressed by the Board in the future.

Use this link to view the minutes of past MWMC Board Meetings

Click here for Board announcements


Shelly Baird
Nanticoke Watershed Alliance
PO Box 111
113 Old Ocean Gateway
Vienna, MD 21869
410-430-3273
Shellybaird@nanticokeriver.org


Dan Boward
Executive Secretary

Maryland DNR
Tawes Building, C-2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-260-8605
dboward@dnr.state.md.us


Kevin Brittingham
Baltimore County Dept of Environmental Protection & Sustainability
105 W. Chesapeake Ave, Suite 400
Towson, MD 21204
410-887-5683
kbrittingham@baltimorecountymd.gov



Jim Caldwell
Howard County Office of Environmental Sustainability
3430 Courthouse Dr.
Ellicott City, MD 21043
410-313-6551
jcaldwell@howardcountymd.gov


Michele Dobson
Harford Co. Dept. of Public Works
Water Resources Engineering
212 S. Bond St.,
Bel Air, MD 21014
410-638-3545 ext. 1247
mgdobson@harfordcountymd.gov


Tim Goodfellow
Frederick Co. Dept. of Planning and Development Review
30 N. Market Street
Frederick, MD 21701
301-600-2508
TGoodfellow@FrederickCountyMD.gov


Katherine Hanna
Webmaster

Maryland DNR
Tawes Building, C-2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-260-8609
khanna@dnr.state.md.us


Sandra Hertz
Maryland State Highway Administration
Office of Environmental Design
707 North Calvert Street MSC 303
Baltimore, MD 21202
410–545–8609
shertz@sha.state.md.us


Clark Howells
Board Vice-Chair

Baltimore Dept. of Public Works
5685 Oakland Road
Eldersburg, MD 21784
410-795-6151
Clark.Howells@baltimorecity.gov


Ellen Lathrop-Davis
Community College of Balto. Co.
800 South Rolling Road, D-105B
Catonsville, MD 21228
443-840-5347
ELathrop@ccbcmd.edu


Mat Pajerowski
U.S. Geological Survey
MD-DE-DC Water Science Center
5522 Research Park Drive
Baltimore, MD 21228
443-498-5506
mgpajero@usgs.gov


Thomas A. Parham
Maryland DNR
Tawes Building, D-2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-260-8630
tparham@dnr.state.md.us


Michael J. Pieper
KCI Technologies, Inc.
936 Ridgebrook Road
Sparks, MD 21152
410-316-7816
mpieper@kci.com


Charlie Poukish
Maryland Department of the Environment
1800 Washington Blvd.
Baltimore, MD 21230
410-537-4434
cpoukish@mde.state.md.us


Bill Richardson
Office of Standards, Assessment and TMDLs
Water Protection Division
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 3
1650 Arch Street (3WP30)
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-814-5675
Richardson.William@epamail.epa.gov


Luke Roberson
Webmaster

Maryland DNR
Tawes Building, C-2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-260-8618
lroberson@dnr.state.md.us


Mark Southerland
Board Chair

Versar, Inc.
9200 Rumsey Rd.
Columbia, MD 21045
410-964-9200
msoutherland@Versar.com


Ken Staver
Univ. of MD Wye Research and Education Center
PO Box 169
Queenstown, MD 21658
410-827-8056 ext 111
kstaver@umd.edu


Matt Stover
Maryland Department of the Environment
Environment Assessment & Standards
1800 Washington Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21230
410-537-3611
matthew.stover@maryland.gov


Chris Swan
Univ. of MD Baltimore Co.
211 Sondheim Hall
100 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
410-455-3957
chris.swan@umbc.edu


Peter Tango
U.S. Geological Survey/Chesapeake Bay Program
410 Severn Ave. Suite 109
Annapolis, MD 21403
410-267-9875
ptango@chesapeakebay.net


Chris Victoria
Anne Arundel Dept. of Public Works
2662 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-222-4240
pwvict16@aacounty.org


Caroline Wicks
Eco Check
1 Park Place, Ste 325
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-330-3330
cwicks@umces.edu


Cathy Wiss
Audubon Naturalist Society
3810 Albemarle St., N.W.
Washington D.C. 20016
202-966-1310
wqm@audubonnaturalist.org

Instream Kid

Upcoming Events

  • Check back soon!

MWMC Headlines

2013 Board Meeting Schedule

Click on each date for an agenda as they are posted and links to presentations

2014 Board Meeting Schedule

Click on each date for an agenda as they are posted and links to presentations

  • February 10, 2014
    (10:00 AM to 2:00 PM)
    Versar, Inc. Office
    Columbia, MD
  • April 15, 2014
    (10:00 AM to 2:00 PM)
    Tawes State Office Building, Annapolis, MD
  • July 15, 2014
    (10:00 AM to 2:00 PM)
    Location TBA
  • October 21, 2014
    (10:00 AM to 2:00 PM)
    Tawes State Office Building, Annapolis, MD

Board meeting archives